Pageviews last month

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

 Every time I fly I think about the Jews in 1940 Germany passively lining up for transport.  Which then leads me to wonder if we're being subtly conditioned to submit to whatever our government deems necessary to keep us ______ [fill in the blank: safe, healthy, skinny, salt-less, sugar-free and generally anything the food police believes is bad for us.] That level of control of peoples' lives is coming  coming and the airport issue is just a stalking horse, a trial run, for what is to come.


terrorist as a result of these screenings?  The answer is no.  This is because our response to the Islamic Jihadists threat is always REactive when it should be PROactive.  In simple terms, we are closing the barn door after the horse has been stolen.

We Americans know our enemy and it is not us.  What on earth is wrong with making the most efficient use of the limited resources we have (this means money either borrowed or printed or taken from another program, usually defense) and targeting the most likely suspects for further inspection instead of adopting this one-size-fits-all, everyone-is-equally suspect approach to 'keeping us safe'? 

No matter what the TSA does, a determined and ingenious terrorist will come up with a new way of getting us.  Right now I'd say they've succeeded in fundamentally changing this country, at least in the unintended consequences  department.  Because of 9/11 we are no longer a free people.  We grudgingly allow ourselves to be frisked, radiated,  and delayed, sometimes to the point of missing a connection and beginning a whole 'nother nightmare, for no reason other than our number came up.   Maybe we had an unopened can of Diet coke in our purse and forgot to surrender it before And we didn't complain beyond a little grumbling and sharing anecdotal stories at cocktail parties.   God knows we didn't grumble too loudly within earshot of a TSA agent.  That gets you arrested.

Gate rape vs unknown radiation danger has finally awakened our sense of outrage and the rise of the question - why are we subjecting our own people to these invasive procedures when we should be targeting our enemy?  What is actually (not emotionally) wrong with profiling?  It is not racist when it is based in reality.  Young Muslim men are our enemy, not a family going to Disney World.  


I cringe to think of how much money the government is having to borrow to support this sacrifice on the altar of political correctness.   Has any terrorist ever been apprehended at an airport screening?   "Aha!" you say,  "but we haven't been hit either."  Only by the grace of God, not because of any TSA or any other governmental preventive action.  In one case it was dumb luck; in the other it was the alert actions of the AIRLINE taking the terrorist OUT of the country.  Making Americans miserable in airports did not prevent jacksh*t.

To those who say they support this policy We can never be 100% safe on an airplane, not matter what we do.  We can strip naked, allow a cavity search of our bodies and we still cannot know we will survive the flight.  I venture to say, the odds of being in a plane crash are a lot higher than the odds of dying in a terrorist attack.  Are you going to stop flying?  You can be in a car crash on your way to the airport.  Are you going to never get in a car again?  We will never be 100% secure.  That is life.

Air Travel - is it not torture of Americans on a par with some ofthe "abuses" at Gitmo

Al Qaeda doesn’t have to attack us directly. They’re already making life miserable for the millions of Americans who fly. Our own government has declared war on us while the terrorists just get more creative. Meanwhile, flying has become a real ordeal that about as much fun as having a root canal.

I have really had it with the stupid rules TSA inflicts on us when we fly. Why do so many of these rules make no sense to anyone other than a Washington bureaucratic?

In order to comply with their 3-3-1 rule regarding liquid toiletries I have to buy 3 clear plastic bottles 3 oz or less, pour my liquids (toiletries, one assumes) into these bottles, put them in a 1 qt ziplock bag, and hope I can remember which is which. If I make a mistake and have a 4 oz bottle of facial cleanser that is opened and only contains 3 oz, they confiscate it. What if I used a sandwich bag? Will they take my stuff?

I have had an unopened can of Diet Coke confiscated, as well as brand new toothpaste just opened the night before. In London I was detained for a full carry-on search because I forgot I had a half full plastic bottle of water in my bag. 40 minutes later we were released, after they took my water and looked through everything I had with me.

Check any security line at any airport and you will see a table of confiscated items. Sodas, bottled water, toothpaste, shampoos - the list is endless. I know I feel a lot safer knowing these dangerous items have been kept off the plane.

Why is it that the actions of one would-be terrorist who failed, bring on another myriad of rules for everyone? Richard Wright, the “shoe bomber” was an idiot, but he is responsible for everyone having to take off their shoes at airports.

The “underwear bomber” brought on full body scans and an expense of billions of dollars (borrowed from the Chinese) to buy these very expensive machines. Have they caught anyone yet? Yet when we have a real terrorist (the NY bombing attempt) actually IN “the System”in our “security system” the TSA and Homeland security have to be told by the airlines that someone suspicious, on the no-fly list, is on a plane ready to leave the country.

Instead of banning my Coke why don’t catch the real criminals? Why don’t the different agencies work on integrating all their various systems so a real terrorist doesn’t slip through the net? But for the grace of God we would have had 2 horrific tragedies in less than a year. If left to the TSA both attempts might have succeeded.