terrorist as a result of these screenings? The answer is no. This is because our response to the Islamic Jihadists threat is always REactive when it should be PROactive. In simple terms, we are closing the barn door after the horse has been stolen.
We Americans know our enemy and it is not us. What on earth is wrong with making the most efficient use of the limited resources we have (this means money either borrowed or printed or taken from another program, usually defense) and targeting the most likely suspects for further inspection instead of adopting this one-size-fits-all, everyone-is-equally suspect approach to 'keeping us safe'?
No matter what the TSA does, a determined and ingenious terrorist will come up with a new way of getting us. Right now I'd say they've succeeded in fundamentally changing this country, at least in the unintended consequences department. Because of 9/11 we are no longer a free people. We grudgingly allow ourselves to be frisked, radiated, and delayed, sometimes to the point of missing a connection and beginning a whole 'nother nightmare, for no reason other than our number came up. Maybe we had an unopened can of Diet coke in our purse and forgot to surrender it before And we didn't complain beyond a little grumbling and sharing anecdotal stories at cocktail parties. God knows we didn't grumble too loudly within earshot of a TSA agent. That gets you arrested.
Gate rape vs unknown radiation danger has finally awakened our sense of outrage and the rise of the question - why are we subjecting our own people to these invasive procedures when we should be targeting our enemy? What is actually (not emotionally) wrong with profiling? It is not racist when it is based in reality. Young Muslim men are our enemy, not a family going to Disney World.
I cringe to think of how much money the government is having to borrow to support this sacrifice on the altar of political correctness. Has any terrorist ever been apprehended at an airport screening? "Aha!" you say, "but we haven't been hit either." Only by the grace of God, not because of any TSA or any other governmental preventive action. In one case it was dumb luck; in the other it was the alert actions of the AIRLINE taking the terrorist OUT of the country. Making Americans miserable in airports did not prevent jacksh*t.
To those who say they support this policy We can never be 100% safe on an airplane, not matter what we do. We can strip naked, allow a cavity search of our bodies and we still cannot know we will survive the flight. I venture to say, the odds of being in a plane crash are a lot higher than the odds of dying in a terrorist attack. Are you going to stop flying? You can be in a car crash on your way to the airport. Are you going to never get in a car again? We will never be 100% secure. That is life.
No comments:
Post a Comment